Library: CONS Text Analysis Resources for Conservatory Students: Author info

Biography in Context
A comprehensive biographical reference database that provides more than 300,000 narrative biographies on noteworthy individuals from around the world, throughout history and across all disciplines and subject areas. Information is drawn from nearly 80 Gale biographical sources such as Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of American Biography, Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives, Encyclopedia of World Biography, as well as full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Library catalog - search for your playwright as a subject
Try searching for your author in the format Last Name, First Name as subject rather than "word" or keyword. This is the easiest way to find books about them.

The Oxford companion to American theatre by Gerald Martin Bordman; Thomas S. Hischak
ISBN: 0195169867
Publication Date: 2004
Also available as an eBook here
The Oxford guide to plays by Michael Patterson
Publication Date: 2007
The Routledge companion to theatre and performance by Paul Allain; Jen Harvie
Publication Date: 2014
What is theatre? What is performance? What connects them and how are they different? What events, people, practices and ideas have shaped theatre and performance in the twentieth and twenty-first century? The Routledge Companion to Theatre and Performance offers some answers to these big questions. It provides an analytical, informative and engaging introduction to important people, companies, events, concepts and practices that have defined the complementary fields of theatre and performance studies. This fully updated second edition contains three easy to use alphabetized sections including over 120 revised entries on topics and people ranging from performance artist Ron Athey, to directors Vsevold Meyerhold and Robert Wilson, megamusicals , postdramatic theatre and documentation. Each entry includes crucial historical and contextual information, extensive cross-referencing, detailed analysis and an annotated bibliography. The Routledge Companion to Theatre and Performance is a perfect reference guide for the keen student.