Skip to Main Content
live chat

About the Library

About the Webster-Eden Library System

The Webster-Eden Library System, originally established in 1969, is a cooperative program of Webster University and Eden Theological Seminary. It consists of Webster University Library and Eden Theological Seminary’s Luhr Reading & Reference Library.

Webster University Library logo and Eden Theological Seminary Library logo

Eden Theological Seminary

Eden Theological Seminary is an ecumenical school related to the United Church of Christ. Eden offers programs leading to the Master of Divinity, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Pastoral Studies, and Doctor of Ministry degrees.

Webster University

Webster University, founded in 1915 with its home campus based in St. Louis, Missouri, USA, is an independent, nonprofit university with campus locations around the world including metropolitan, military, online and corporate, as well as American-style traditional campuses in North America, Europe and Asia. Webster offers programs in seven colleges and schools: College of Humanities and Social Sciences; Leigh Gerdine College of Fine Arts; College of Science and Health; George Herbert Walker School of Business and Technology; School of Communications; School of Education; and Gleich Honors College.

The Mission 

The mission of the Webster-Eden Library System is to support the teaching, research, and intellectual pursuits of Eden Theological Seminary and Webster University. To achieve its mission, the Webster-Eden Library System, governed by the provisions of a joint agreement between both institutions and in accordance with the mission statements of the libraries of each school, provides appropriate information resources and services for the institutions' students, faculty, and staff.

This unique arrangement is a concrete expression of an imaginative and innovative spirit in higher education. Shared library functions, including acquisitions, serials, cataloging, systems, interlibrary loan, and collection development are overseen by a Cooperative Library Advisory Board.

For more information, please contact:

Eileen Condon, Dean of Webster University Libraries