Library: CONS Text Analysis Resources for Conservatory Students: Images

Subscription databases require login with university ID number.

Artstor (now a part of JSTOR image collections)
A nonprofit digital library of over one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. It offers a set of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images in the collection are contributed by outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Grove Art Online
The image search feature within this art reference database searches 40,000 selected image links to museums and galleries worldwide and links to 5,00 images contained within the Grove Art Online encyclopedia.

American Memory, Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The Library of Congress site provides access to thousands of photographs in its collection. Follow the link to "photos & prints". A number of photo collections record life during the Civil War, nineteenth and turn of the century America, small town and rural life during the Depression, architecture and design from the 1930's to the 1950's and more.
Life Photo Archive
Photographs from Life magazine's photo archive hosted on Google. Browse photos arranged by decade or search by keywords.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Access to over 300,000 images digitized from the collectons of the New York Public Library. Historical materials include illuminated manuscripts, maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books and more.
Picture Collection (New York Public Library)
Over 30,000 digitized images from the New York Public Library Picture Collection. Most of the images were created before 1923. Many costume categories are covered (clothing & dress, fashion drawings, fur fashions,gloves, hats, hairdressing, hosiery, shoes) but additional categories cover American life and history.
Smithsonian Institution
Over 7.4 million searchable records with images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.