Use the Find Articles tab on the navigation menu for lists of the best databases to use for this program or course.
A scholarly, journal article is commonly a research study or in-depth literature review of a topic.
This series covers how to find peer-reviewed journal articles using a management topic. However, this content is applicable to all disciplines and appropriate for all Webster students. The eight (8) videos in this series are available via a YouTube playlist. Or, you may watch videos from the links below.
1. Get started and get help at Webster University Library (03:05)
Use the big blue buttons on the library’s homepage at library.webster.edu to find a research guide for your program and to get help from our research and subject librarians.
2. What is a peer-reviewed journal? (03:26)
Describes the different types of periodicals from magazines to scholarly/academic journals. The process of peer-review adds a higher level of authority to journal articles.
3. Define your topic (02:09)
How to select a topic that is appropriate to your course, based on your assignment and personal interests, describe it as a research question and select the key words or phrases to use in a database article search.
4. Choose a database and log in (01:55)
The library has databases for each program or major and lists to help you select the best one for your research needs. Here’s how to choose one and log in to library databases and eResources.
5. Search for articles with key words (03:26)
Use appropriate key words or terms to search a database for articles on your topic. If you don't find enough, or the right kinds of articles, here’s how to expand and narrow your search results.
6. Limit your search results to journal articles (2:42)
Once you’ve found a set of articles, limit to journal articles and/or by publication date to better meet your assignment needs.
7. Organize article search results and get full-text (3:04)
Learn how to use database tools to help you organize and save your results into folders and library tools and services to get the full-text (for free), even if it’s not in the database you’ve searched.
8. Get a citation from a database (2:02)
Many of the library’s database will generate a citation for your articles! See how to get an APA (or MLA) citation from a database and learn more about how to use the citation in your writing.
