Excellent "...collection of policy and regulatory materials related to health care..." Includes links to cases, statutes, and regulations, congressional testimony, news and reports. Covers topics such as antitrust, medicare/medicaid, quality assurance, public health, policy and administration, etc.

"The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives." (from NIH website).

NIH is made up of 27 Institutes and Centers, each with a specific research agenda, often focusing on particular diseases or body systems, e.g. National Cancer Institute, National Institute on Aging, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities, National Library of Medicine, etc..

NLM collects, organizes, and makes available biomedical science information to scientists, health professionals, and the public.

The AHRQ's mission is to "improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans".

The AHA is a "national organization that represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities". Webster University patrons may access the The American Hospital Directory via the Articles / databases link on the library homepage. This database provides detailed information, search tools, and statistics for more than 6,000 hospitals nationwide.

"As the nation's health care system continues to evolve, the AMA is dedicated to ensuring sustainable physician practices that result in better health outcomes for patients." (Strategic Focus page)

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit, public policy think tank, whose mission is to conduct high-quality to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance democracy, foster economic and social welfare, and promote international cooperation.

"The mission of The Commonwealth Fund is to promote a high-performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for society's most vulnerable, including low-income people, the uninsured, minority Americans, young children, and elderly adults. The Fund carries out this mandate by supporting independent research on health care issues and making grants to improve health care practice and policy. An international program in health policy is designed to stimulate innovative policies and practices in the United States and other industrialized countries." (from Mission)

A consumer-focused website for help with insurance and the Affordable Care Act.

"The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the nation. The Foundation is an independent voice and source of facts and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the general public."

"The NIHCM Foundation is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to improving the effectiveness, efficiency and quality of America's health care system. The Foundation conducts research, policy analysis and educational activities on a range of health care issues."

"The Urban Institute's Health Policy Center analyzes trends and underlying causes of changes in health insurance coverage, access to care, and use of health care services by the entire US population."

Provides information on numerous health care topics, especially Medicare and Medicaid. Agency was formerly the Health Care Financing Administration.

A family of health care databases developed through a Federal-State-Industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to bring together the data collection efforts of State data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the Federal government to create a national information resource of patient-level health care data.

Excellent source for publications, statistical tables, news releases, and fact sheets on popular health topics. Also includes links to other health-related sites.