Business and Management at Webster University Library
This research guides provides databases, search tips and resources for getting started with business and management research. A guide for your specific program or major may be available on the Getting Started tab on the navigation menu.
Compare global and regional trends in consumer behavior worldwide. The data from the Global Consumer Survey comes alive in an interactive browser-based analysis tool on the Statista platform. Users can create their individual target groups and analyses and export their findings into Excel or PowerPoint.
FactSet provides extensive financial data on markets and companies, which allows users to monitor global markets, perform in-depth analysis, and develop investment strategies. For more information on setting up your FactSet account (needed for access) and using FactSet in courses, see the library's research guide
Reports on over 700 major US industries providing current trends and 5-year outlook. Can be searched by industry (NAICS) codes or keyword or company name or may be browsed by type of industry. The IBISWorld Business Environment Reports are integrated to give a macroeconomic view of the industry. A search of this database also retrieves over 900 additional reports from the US Specialized Industry Reports module which cover niche industries in greater detail. (These reports are coded as OD, rather than by NAICS code.)
This resource offers data and analyses that give context to companies, industries, and the U.S. economy. IBIS uses an “outside-looking-in” approach to explain how economic, demographic and other changes impact people, enterprises and commerce.
Specializing in consumer and market data, Statista provides access to statistics from a wide range of topics. Access data sets, charts, infographics, survey results, studies, forecasts and more through Statista.
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
Labor statistics and information from the federal government. Part of the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes data on subjects such as employment & unemployment, inflation, occupational requirements, pay & benefits, productivity, spending & time use, workplace injuries, and access to the publication, Occupational Outlook Handbook
The SEC’s EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing users to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q.
FRED® is a database of over 246,000 US economic time series from 77 sources. With FRED®, you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
A central repository of information on US federal contracting. The system contains detailed information on contract actions over $3,000 (FY2004 and later data). The Executive departments and agencies award over $200 billion annually for goods and services. The system can identify who bought what, from whom, for how much, when and where.
A source for international business and trade information on all 50 U.S. states. In addition to demographic, economic, and historical information on each state, you will find data on corporations with headquarters in each state, and links to state-specific resources.
