Use the tabs to the left to find library databases and search examples for finding articles on economic or financial topics or for finding other economic or financial information.
Need help? Contact a librarian at our research services desk (includes 24/7 chat) or the business & management librarian. (See boxes at left).
See the Business & Management guide. It is the most comprehensive list of business resources.
Graphic: Economics by Nick Youngson CC BY-SA 3.0 Pix4free.org
The Business and Management Research Guide is a more comprehensive list of resources for all formats of business information. In addition to links to all the business program guides, pages on this guide include:
Here you may also find information and library services and help for:
Here are a couple of tip sheets on using advanced features within Webster University Libraries' databases, which include:
For general questions and help getting started with your research, begin with the Library's Get Help page. Here you may In addition to in-person and email help, the Library's chat services is available 24/7, except for U.S. federal holidays. (See Help box on this page.)
For more in-depth help, or to schedule an appointment, the librarian for Webster University business and management majors/programs is Mary Anne Erwin. Her contact information is available on this page/guide.
Visit our Get Help page to contact our Research Desk by phone (314-246-6950 or 1-800-985-4270) or see our library and research desk hours if you want to visit in person. Here you may also email or chat, 24/7.
(MS Clipart)
Reference Solutions is our best database directory for finding small, medium, and large companies in the United States. An advanced search allows one to search across data fields to narrow results, for example to a companies in a specific industry in a geographic area.
Access industry, market and country research reports from such publishers as Datamonitor/MarketLine and others.
To access international/country industry reports from such publishers as MarketLine (formerly DataMonitor) and Barnes Reports:
Hints: For global reports that compare many countries, try searching for reports that include the words global or worldwide. For example, in the graphic below, remove the word china and enter this phrase: global or worldwide
Bizminer does not list individual companies. It does list aggregated financials for small, mid-sized and large US companies in the same industry. It is excellent for finding the "average" financial profile data. The database "provides financial data for over 5,000 industry segments in over 350 geographic areas with up to 15 sales class options. It includes 24 lines of income statement data, 16 lines of balance sheet data, and 36 financial ratios, with historical data as far back as 2001." (description from the database, 20Dec2022)
The advantage of using library databases is that the articles and reports are generally from well-recognized business publishers. However, many government agencies and industry associations employ experts and distribute valuable information on the Web. And, checking a company's website for their annual report (if a public company), their mission statement and their product marketing can help you to get a sense of their corporate culture. Before you use any information, but especially from the Internet, ask yourself "Is it C R A A P?"
The CRAAP acronym was coined by Sarah Blakeslee at Meriam Library at California State University.
ISIC is a standard in "classifying data according to kind of economic activity in the fields of production, employment, gross domestic product and other statistical areas. ISIC is a basic tool for studying economic phenomena, fostering international comparability of data, providing guidance for the development of national classifications and for promoting the development of sound national statistical systems." For more information and tables, see the International Labour Organization Department of Statistics.
https://guides.loc.gov/industry-research/classification-international
https://unstats.un.org › unsd › publication › seriesm
The International Standard Industrial Classification of All Economic Activities (ISIC) is the international reference classification of productive activities.
306 pages
Current (and archived) issues for over 40 U.S. metro/regional newspapers published by American City Business Journals, including the St Louis Business Journal. To access the Book of Lists for each metro area, from the header menu in the upper left corner, Select a City, then find the "Your News" section.
