Library: Sustainability: Posters

Webster/Eden Image Databases

Access restricted to Webster/Eden students and staff.

Academic Search Premier -- Image Collection
In this Ebscohost database click on "More" in the blue bar across the top of of the search page to find the Image search. This collection of over 100,000 images offers photos covering world news and events, contemporary and historical coverage of people and places, maps, flags, and natural science.
Architecture, Interiors and Furniture
Access to 1,900 images of architecture and interior decoration covering 2800 B.C. to late twentieth century from the eight volume slide collection Architecture, Interiors and Furniture by Stephen Sbarge. Textual description for images of each period is included as a PDF.
History of Costume
Access to 1,488 images of costumes through the ages from the six volume slide collection History of Costume by Jeanne Button, Patricia Quinn Stuart and Stephen Sbarge. Textual description for images of each period is included as a PDF.

Artstor (now a part of JSTOR image collections)
Great collections of the arts, architecture and photographs with strong coverage of world cultures throughout history.
Grove Art Online
The image search feature within this art reference database searches 40,000 selected image links to museums and galleries worldwide and links to 5,00 images contained within the Grove Art Online encyclopedia.

Create your own visual data and infographics

Inforgram
Create more than 30 chart types. Anything from bubble charts and treemaps to simple pie charts.
Tableau Public
Build interactive infographics and data visualizations for free.
Easelly
Drag and drop designs into a canvas to create your own infographics
PickToChart
Piktochart helps you to create infographics, share and get results. No design experience required
Presenter
Presenter helps you create rich interactive presentations & interactive web content
Google Drive
Create new documents, spreadsheets, basic edited images, and presentations on your own or share and collaborate with others in real time. All your changes are saved automatically in Drive. There isn't even a save button.

When to Cite	When to provide Attribution
Any images you plan to use in a scholarly work (from print or web) should be cited according to required format style (APA, MLA, etc.)	You may attribute an image/visual media source for presentations, papers, or other formats that do not require a specific publication style.

Example (MLA) image from the web

Example (APA) image from the web

Example attributed image from the web

Blake, William. The Ghost of a Flea. 1918. Tempera heightened with gold on mahogany. Tate Britain, London. Art Project. Google. Web. 15 Feb. 2011

---------------------------------

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Work. Year. Medium. Institution housing work: Location of Institution. Website name. Website sponsor. Web. Date of retrieval.

Carvaggio, M. (1606). Death of the Virgin. [Painting]. Retrieved from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caravaggio

----------------------------------

Lastname, A. A. (Year of composition). Title of Work. [Format]. Place work resides

Praying Mantis by Elizabeth Swider (2010) (CC-BY 3.0)

-----------------------

Try to include the following information:

Provide the creator of the work
the title
year(s) when it was composed/completed
materials involved in creating the work
institution that houses the work
date the work was retrieved
the website from which the work was retrieved (a hyperlink if the format allows).