Resources for Spring 2025 class taught by Patricia Muyco-Tobin.
Please note our Statement on Offensive Materials in the Archives.

Visit the library in person to view their special collections. All Webster University students are eligible to get a library card with a photo ID and proof of current address. You do not need a library card to view items in the library.

Webster Groves Public Library
301 E. Lockwood Ave.
Webster Groves, MO 63119
314-961-3784

From Local History - Webster Groves Public Library:

Maps
There is a collection of historical maps that can be viewed within the Library showing Webster Groves and surrounding areas. Some of these maps are on loan from the Webster Groves Historical Society. See this index for details.

Webster-Kirkwood Times
The Library has an almost-complete collection of original issues of the Webster-Kirkwood Times from its first issue (as The Webster Times) in 1978 to the present.

Reference Books
We also have a variety of local history book in our reference section, including histories of the city, neighborhoods, and churches, along with books about century homes and even some early residential and business directories. Copies of some of these items are also available to check out.

Webster Groves History Collection
This collection of newspaper and magazine clippings, brochures, photographs, and more has been catalogued and organized as a joint project of Webster Groves Public Library and the Webster Groves Historical Society. While the collection is housed at the Library, not all of it is owned by the library. Many items are on loan from the Historical Society and other entities. All items in this collection must be viewed within the library. They do not circulate.

All Webster University students may get a St. Louis County Library card by filling out this online form while signed into Connections. Use your card to access these resources.

Historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Searchable full text and full image articles from the St. Louis Post-Dispatch newspaper from 1874-2003. 

St. Louis Research Articles in PastPorts
Articles on St. Louis history and how to conduct historical research.

Sixteen in Webster Groves is a 1966 documentary produced by Arthur Barron for CBS News. Many Webster Groves residents felt that they were unfairly portrayed in the film. Read the Wikipedia overview.

Watch

from St. Louis Post-Dispatch, February 9, 1966, p8F

from St. Louis Post-Dispatch, July 3, 1977, p6H

Retrospective article
Conklin, E. E. (2006, March 6). 56 in Webster Groves. Riverfront Times. https://www.riverfronttimes.com/news/56-in-webster-groves-2491443