This page contains a full list of databases that are compliant with either Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act, or W3C WAI WCAG 2.0 Level A.
Some databases offer a simple statement of compliance. However, others provide additional instructions as to how one may maximize use of their databases in screen-reader mode.
EBSCOhost is fully functional for visually-impaired users. The EBSCOhost platform meets and in many cases exceeds section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act, Electronic and Information Technology Accessibility Standards. Additionally, EBSCOhost is WCAG 2.0 Level A compliant. EBSCO has invested time and resources to exceed Web accessibility guidelines and to support several features that are part of the WCAG Level AA compliance by improving page orientation and navigation of EBSCOhost. Read More.
Below is a list of EBSCO databases with the Read Aloud Feature.
A scholarly multidisciplinary database of periodical articles, most with full-text.
Focuses on the history of the United States and Canada from early times to present day. Includes related disciplines such as sociology, popular culture, gender issues, anthropology, literature, folklore, history of various disciplines, etc. (5 simultaneous users)
Focuses on the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes related disciplines, such as multicultural studies, psychology, religion, political science, etc. Provides worldwide coverage of the journal literature in history, selected book reviews, and references to dissertations. Covers literature published from 1955 to present
Credo's Reference and Education products are compliant with Section 508 of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Users with disabilities are encouraged to use screen readers or other third party tools to assist with use of Credo's interfaces.
Some content types in Credo Reference may have limited usability for individuals with certain disabilities. The videos in the Core Collections have closed captioning. Some videos additionally have transcripts provided by the publisher. Audio content such as pronunciation files, and video content not in the Core Collections, may not be usable by a hearing or vision impaired user. Credo Education materials include transcripts for all audio-visual content.
Wherever possible, the site meets Conformance level A (Priority 2) of the World Wide Web Consortium's Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI).
A historical dictionary of English which traces words back to their entry into the language. Each entry describes where the word came from and shows how it has been used in various writings through the years. Continuously updated to include language from the present day.
Project MUSE is committed to creating products that are fully accessible to all users, regardless of their physical challenges.
High-quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 university presses and scholarly societies.
ProQuest complies with Section 508 of the U.S. Rehabilitation Act, the ADA, Level A and Level AA of the WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (WCAG 2.0) and in some cases Level AAA standards. For full details see Accessibility Directory.
In addition to the specific accessibility standards, the site has been built following broader web coding standards (e.g. (x)HTML and CSS2) to ensure compatibility with as wide a range of browsers and assistive technologies as possible.
Cengage Learning is committed to making its educational materials accessible to users of all abilities. Through a dedicated company-wide task force, the assistance of outside experts and consultants, and feedback from users, Cengage Learning continuously seeks to identify and evaluate opportunities for improving the usability and accessibility of our products and services.
Simultaneously search Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author, and Gale Virtual Reference Library for information on literary works and authors worldwide.
Currently, users can cross-search these collections with Gale Literature:
The website is accessible to users with disabilities, including keyboard-only users and those with visual and cognitive impairments. The website is responsive, meaning users can easily adjust font size and color/contrast settings on most devices. We regularly use automated checks and conduct tests with users against Section 508 and WCAG standards to evaluate and measure the accessibility of the site.
JSTOR is a digital archive of scholarly journals. Note that our subscription is for the following collections: Arts & Sciences II and Arts & Sciences III.
Click the Images tab to search Artstor for thousands of images from the arts, architecture, photography, and other disciplines.
Elsevier is committed to providing an accessible experience for individuals with disabilities and impairments, including auditory, cognitive, physical, speech and visual disabilities.
