Library: Entrepreneurship at Webster University Library: Market Research and Consumer Demographics

Marketing "generations" by age

Marketers label the generations using birth years and age ranges. The following document lists generation titles and profiles from: American Generations: Who they are and how they live, 9^th ed., 2018. Ithaca, NY: New Strategist Publication, Inc.

American generations: who they are and how they live (9th ed.) by New Strategist Press Editors (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
eBook
Summary: This book provides an in-depth overview of the demographics of each generation, covering attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth. It includes 2016 attitudes data from the General Social Survey, 2015 time use data from the American Time Use Survey, as well as recent income, housing, labor force, and spending data. Household net worth, assets, and debt are also profiled.

The Generations (Gen X, Gen Y, Baby Boomers, etc.) and the Four P's
This document provides terms and synonyms (e.g. Millennials or Generation Y) to help one search for articles and reports about the generations and marketing concepts of place, promotion, product and price.

Consumer demographics databases

U.S. demographic and consumer behavior websites

Find Census Data (formerly American FactFinder)
Provides access to population, housing, economic and geographic information from the US Census Bureau. Data is collected from nearly 100 surveys and censuses including the 10-year Decennial Census of population and housing, the annual American Community Survey, and the 5-year Economic Census of business and industry.
American Time Use Survey
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this website reports "the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Labor statistics and information from the federal government. Part of the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes data on subjects such as employment & unemployment, inflation, occupational requirements, pay & benefits, productivity, spending & time use, workplace injuries, and access to the publication, Occupational Outlook Handbook
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Produced for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the US Census Bureau. The data provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data and published the last book in 2012. Use this source for historical perspectives or find more current data by accessing the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract.
Surveys of Consumers
Reports the Consumer Sentiment Index and other research conducted by the University of Michigan. (Reports newer than six months are only available to survey sponsors.)
United States Census Bureau
Includes population and household statistics from the most recent census, economic and geographic statistics for businesses, as well as links to other statistical sites.

Explore Census Data -- data.census.gov (formerly American Factfinder)

data.census.gov (formerly American FactFinder)
Provides access to population, housing, economic and geographic information from the US Census Bureau. Data is collected from nearly 100 surveys and censuses including the 10-year Decennial Census of population and housing, the annual American Community Survey, and the 5-year Economic Census of business and industry.
Getting started with Your Search on on data.census.gov
Learn about the different ways to search for data on the platform; from basics, like using the Single Search, to applying filters in the Advanced Search, this video is full of tips and tricks to help you get started.

Find data about:

Population Characteristics: age, sex, income, race, etc.
Housing: single family, ownership/rentals, children at home, etc.
Geography: from zip codes to cities/towns, counties to states, metropolitan areas and more
Business & Economy: industry/NAICS data, establishments, employees, payroll, etc.

St Louis County Library business databases

Webster University has partnered with St. Louis County Library (SLCL) to offer public-library cards to Webster University students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location! Those in the St. Louis area may visit any branch in person to check out books and other materials, as well as access their wealth of online resources. Those outside of the St. Louis area may also access these online resources with their SLCL card.

How can I get a St. Louis County Library card?

Use the St Louis County Library Resources A to Z to access these databases, and more!

This list is subject to change (updated June 2025).
Remember that you must have an active County Library card to access these online.
*Starred databases are also available via Webster University Library’s Databases A-Z List

Business & Investing

* Morningstar Investment Research Center
- Search over 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs to determine where to invest your money.
* Value Line
- Investment newsletter that profiles companies activity traded on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ stock exchanges and speculates on their future performance.
Weiss Financial Ratings Series
- Search independent, unbiased financial strength ratings of banks, credit unions and insurance companies.

Small Business Resources

D&B Hoovers
- Offers a company directory ("Build a Company List") and in-depth financial comparisons and analysis of over 85 million public and private companies
First Research
- Provides in-depth industry information on over 1000 industries. [D&B Hoovers]
Reference Solutions
- Directory with millions of listings for businesses, residents, new movers, and consumer demographics and psychographics across the U.S. Look up specific companies or individuals or use advanced search tools to build a list of potential customers, learn more about competitors in your industry and more.
Simply Analytics
- Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, health, and marketing data.

Online news

Ad Age
Website for well-known publication covering all aspects of the topic. Includes domestic and international news, features, critiques of advertising strategies, information on conferences and events, etc. (from About Us page, 10/17/2023)
Adweek
Well-known for its coverage of advertising and marketing news, this site is a "leading source of news and insight serving the brand marketing ecosystem ... across platforms including print, digital, events, podcasts, newsletters, social media and mobile apps."
American Marketing Association
"The AMA leads an unparalleled discussion on marketing excellence from thought leaders who seek answers for the future to propel business growth and elevate the role of marketing. (from About Us, 10/17/23.)
CustomerThink
"A global online community of business leaders striving to create profitable customer-centric enterprises. Major topics include customer experience and engagement, leadership, and technology. This is the place to learn about every facet of customer-centric business management in articles, blogs, interviews, and news." (from "About Us" page 10/17/2023)
eMarketer
Provides market research on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technology.
Marketing Charts
Shares research on television, interactive, print, radio, put-of-home, and direct marketing.