Library: Chemistry at Webster University Library: Books

Reference Resources in Chemistry

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. by John R. Rumble Jr. et al (Editors)
Publication Date: 2023
A reference book of chemical and physical data, available online. There is also a print copy of the 102nd edition available in the Reference section of the Webster Library: CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
Lange's handbook of chemistry by James G. Speight et al
Publication Date: 2005
A standard reference for chemists.
Basic chemical concepts & tables [electronic resource] by Steven L. Hoenig
Publication Date: 2020
eBook
Covers general chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, and spectral analysis. Separate chapters offer physical constants, unit measurements, and mathematical concepts needed when reviewing or working with basic chemistry concepts
Organic chemist's desk reference [electronic resource] by Caroline Cooper
Publication Date: 2010
ebook
A concise guide to the essentials of organic chemistry -- the literature, nomenclature, stereochemistry, spectroscopy, hazard information, and laboratory data.

LibreTexts Chemistry Library [electronic resource]
A freely available open educational resource Powered by MindTouch® and are supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project, the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions Program, and Merlot.
more...less...
LibreTexts project is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary [electronic resource]
A compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.
more...less...
Editor(s): Michael D. Larrañaga, Sr. Lewis, Lewis Richard J., Robert A.
Edition: 16th
Publisher: Wiley
Copyright: Copyright © 2016 by John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.
Penguin Dictionary of Science [electronic resource]
Covers keyp topics in chemistry, physics, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, human anatomy, mathematics, astronomy and computing. Fourth Edition, 2014.
more...less...
Author(s): Mike Clugston
Edition: 4th
Publisher: Penguin
Copyright: Copyright © M. J. Clugston, 1998, 2004, 2009, 2014
The American Heritage Student Science Dictionary [electronic resource]
A comprehensive student science dictionary with over 4,500 A-Z entries, 450 full-color photographs and drawings, over 150 fascinating feature notes, and full-page tables and charts.
more...less...
Editor(s): Editors of the American Heritage Dictionaries
Edition: 2nd
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Copyright: Copyright © 2014 by Houghton Mifflin Company.
Glossary for Science Terms - English to Chinese

Online reference books

These online reference books are a great place to search for background information on a topic.

Credo Reference
This source has 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases from more than 60 publishers.

Gale Ebooks
Gale eBooks provides a combined search of a number of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources in various subject areas.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The the definitive record of the English language, featuring 600000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.

How to find a book

Find a specific book in the Library Catalog
This short explanation details how to use the Webster University Library catalog to find a book.