Skip to Main Content
live chat

Webster University History

Facts and figures about Webster University throughout its history

Academic Deans

The academic side of the university (e.g., curriculum, faculty, etc.) has been overseen by individuals with various titles through the years: Dean of Studies, Dean of College, Academic Dean, Dean of Faculties, Vice President for Academic Affairs, etc. Starting in the late 1960s, the individuals listed below may also have had additional titles and areas of responsibility.

  • 1917–1919: Sister Vitalis Forshey, S.L.
  • 1919–1926: Sister Louise Wise, S.L.
  • 1926–1934: Sister M. Borgia Clarke, S.L.
  • 1932–1935: Sister Miriam Judd, S.L.
  • 1935–1938: Sister Flaget Waller, S.L.
  • 1938–1941: Sister Lillian Clare Reed, S.L.
  • 1941–1943: Sister Georgetta Hoerrmann, S.L.
  • 1943–1946: Sister Frances de Chantal McLeese, S.L.
  • 1946–1947: Sister Frances de Sales McGarry, S.L.
  • 1947–1948: Sister Frances de Sales McGarry, S.L. (Acting)
  • 1948–1958: Sister Rose Maureen Sanders, S.L.
  • 1958–1961: Sister Dorothy Jane Van Hoogstrate, S.L.
  • 1961–1963: Sister Marie Francis Kenoyer, S.L.
  • 1963–1964: Sister Mary Frances Lottes, S.L.
  • 1964–1966: Sister Mary Rhodes Buckler, S.L.
  • 1966–1991: Dr. Joseph P. Kelly
  • 1991–2009: Dr. Neil George
  • 2009–2010: Dr. James Staley
  • 2010–current: Dr. Julian Z. Schuster