Named Chairs

Named or endowed faculty positions or "chairs" originated in the medieval institutions of Europe and later American universities adopted the practice. (White & Morgan, 1991). Webster University established its first endowed chair in 2010. The university's endowed chairs are listed below followed by the faculty who have held these positions.


Jane and Bruce Robert Endowed Professorship in French and Francophone Studies (established 2010)


  • Lionel Cuillé

Laurance L. Browning, Jr. Endowed Professorship in Biological Sciences (established 2015)


  • Nicole Miller-Struttmann

Peter E. Sargent Endowed Chair in the Conservatory of Theatre Arts (established 2015)


  • Peter Sargent


$1 Million Donation Creates Endowed Professorship in Biological Sciences. Webster Today, January 26, 2015.


Endowed chair created in honor of Dean Peter Sargent. Webster Today, May 1, 2015.


Webster University Receives $1 Million Gift from Alumna Jane Robert. Webster Today, December 14, 2010.


White, G. P., & Morgan, N. H. (1991). Endowed chairs for public schools. Clearing House, 64(4), 258.