Eden-Webster Library System Banner



About the Webster-Eden Library System


The Webster-Eden Library System, originally established in 1969, is a cooperative program of Webster University and Eden Theological Seminary. It consists of Webster University's Emerson Library and Eden Theological Seminary’s Luhr Reading & Reference Library.


  • Eden Theological Seminary is an ecumenical school related to the United Church of Christ. Eden offers programs leading to the Master of Divinity, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Pastoral Studies, and Doctor of Ministry degrees.
  • Webster University, founded in 1915 with its home campus based in St. Louis, Missouri, USA, is the only Tier 1, private, nonprofit university with campus locations around the world including metropolitan, military, online and corporate, as well as American-style traditional campuses in North America, Europe and Asia. Webster offers programs in five colleges and schools: College of Arts and Sciences; George Herbert Walker School of Business and Technology; Leigh Gerdine College of Fine Arts; School of Communications; and School of Education.


The mission of the Webster-Eden Library System is to support the teaching, research, and intellectual pursuits of Eden Theological Seminary and Webster University. To achieve its mission, the Webster-Eden Library System, governed by the provisions of a joint agreement between both institutions and in accordance with the mission statements of the libraries of each school, provides appropriate information resources and services for the institutions' students, faculty, and staff.


This unique arrangement is a concrete expression of an imaginative and innovative spirit in higher education. Shared library functions, including acquisitions, serials, cataloging, systems, interlibrary loan, and collection development are overseen by a Cooperative Library Advisory Board.


For more information, please contact:

Eileen Condon, Dean of Webster University Libraries