Guide to United Church of Christ congregations
in St. Louis City
and County
Sources
Mr. Esley Hamilton, Preservation Historian, St. Louis County Parks & Recreation, contributed research on Congregational Churches and congregations organized by Evangelical and Reformed and United Church of Christ denominations. Information about congregations founded by the Evangelical Synod of North America was compiled from written histories and other information available on file in the archives. Additional information was gleaned from the sources below. Call numbers refer to shelf locations in the Luhr Library, Eden Theological Seminary
American Congregational Year Book. Archives
“Churches of the Missouri Conference and Year of Organization.” Archives
Das Evangelische St. Louis. St. Louis: Eden Publishing House, 1904. Archives
“Ev. Churches of St. Louis, Missouri and Vicinity.” St. Louis: Douglas Survey Committee. 1943. Archives
Evangelischer Kalendar. Archives
The Blue Book, vol. 1 (1926). St. Louis: Metropolitan Church Federation of St. Louis, 1926. Reference BR560.S2 B5 1926
The Blue Book, vol. 4 (1931-1932). St. Louis: Metropolitan Church Federation of St. Louis, 1931. Reference BR560.S2 B5 1931/32
Saint Louis Public Library. “Two Hundred Years of St. Louis Places of Worship, 1770-1970.”
Schild, James J. House of God: The Historic Churches and Places of Worship of the St. Louis Area. Florissant, Mo.: The Auto Review, 1995.
Schneider, Carl E. The German Church on the American Frontier: A Study in the Rise of religion Among the Germans of the West, Based on the History of the Evangelischer Kirchenverein des Westens (Evangelical Church Society of the West), 1840-1866. St. Louis: Eden Publishing House, 1939. BX7915.S38
Souvenir Booklet for Seventh General Synod of the Evangelical and Reformed Church Held in Saint Louis, Missouri, July 9th to 16th, 1947. St. Louis: Eden Publishing House, 1947. Archives 42-0
Stiritz, Mary M. St. Louis: Historic Churches & Synagogues. St. Louis: St. Louis Public Library and Landmarks Association of St. Louis, Inc., 1995. Reference BR560.S2 S75 1995
Taylor, Richard H. Congregations of the German Evangelical Synod of North America and Related Groups. Benton Harbor, Mich.: Richard H. Taylor, 1998. Ref. BX7915.T39 1998
Wagman, Norbury L. “History of St. Louis Neighborhoods.”
Year Book and Almanac of the Evangelical and Reformed Church. Archives
Year Book for the Reformed Church in the United States. Archives
Year Book and Almanac of the Evangelical Synod of North America. Archives
Year Book—United Church of Christ. Ref. BX9884.A1 U55
Updated Septebmer 2008. Submit queries or report problems to the Archivist at Eden.