Links for family and local history research
Cemeteries
Catholic Cemeteries of the Archdiocese of St. Louis
Provides a searchable database index of burials in St. Louis-area Catholic cemeteries.
Genealogical societies
Madison County (Illinois) Genealogical Society
Information about the Society and its library
St. Clair County (Illinois) Genealogical Society
Besides nformation about the Society, this site offers obituary and church record indexes and more.
St. Louis Genealogical Society
Includes a variety of resources, including a St. Louis naturalization database and other searchable data.
Genealogy
Genealogy in St. Louis
A comprehensive website with excellent content. An important online resource for St. Louis family history researchers.
Libraries and museums
Campbell House Museum
Built in 1851, the Campbell House is a well preserved example of Victorian-era architecture and furnishing, and a fascinating link to St. Louis history. The website provides information about the house museum and photos of the house and its neighborhood taken in 1885.
Mercantile Library at the University of Missouri-St. Louis
Besides collection guides, this site offers an excellent bibliography for St. Louis historical research and access to its St. Louis digital image collection on the Virtually Missouri website.
Missouri Historical Society Research Library
Offers collection guides and access to the library's digital collection.
Newberry Library (Chicago)
The Newberry Library has extensive resources for local and family history research, with collection strengths covering Illinois and other midwestern states and New England. The library's website offers helpful guides and pathfinders. The library accepts research inquries and provides photocopies of specific resources for a fee through its Quick Search program.
St. Louis County Library Special Collections Department
The Special Collections Department includes the library of the St. Louis Genealogical Society and is a major destination for St. Louis researchers. The website includes finding aids and other helpful information for using the collection. Patrons can request assistance by mail, email, and telephone.
St. Louis Public Library
A selection of finding aids, guides, lists and bibliographies. Includes an obituary index for the St. Louis Post Dispatch, 1880-1927, 1942-1945 and 1992-2006. Other helpful resources include indexes to St. Louis churches and streets and other local history resources. Reference assistance is available by mail and email, as well as by telephone.
Local history websites
History of St. Louis Neighborhoods
Online version of histories written by Norbury L. Wagman for the St. Louis Community Development Agency about 1980.
Lasting Impressions: German-Americans in St. Louis
An online exhibit produced by the St. Louis Public Library.
Maps of Missouri
A St. Louis Public Library online exhibit featuring access to historical maps of Missouri, including the city of St. Louis.
St. Louis County Parks and Recreation Department History Page
Local history information and links to historic sites in St. Louis County.
Religious archives
Archdiocese of St. Louis Archives
This site includes information about closed parishes in the archdiocese as well as information about using the archives.
Concordia Historical Institute
Concordia Historical Institute holds the archives for the Lutheran Church— Missouri Synod. The website offers information about the archives, special exhibits and helpful links for researchers.
Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Archives
This website for the denominational archives includes colleciton guides, resources for understanding the historical development of the denomination, and interesting online exhibits.
Missouri United Methodist Archives
Includes a searchable database of Methodist ministers in Missouri.
Presbyterian Church in America Historical Center
Provides access to historical information related to the denomination and its congregations.
Virtual collections and digital images
Virtually Missouri
Offers access to digital image collections from across the state.
Vital records
Illinois State Archives Databases
Includes searchable databases for marriages, deaths, vetrans records and more.
Missouri State Archives Databases
Online access to death records (including death certificates, 1910-1955), probate court records, soldiers database and other information.
Updated 19 May 2007. Queries, corrections and problems should be submitted to Scott Holl, Archivist at Eden.