Link to Luhr Library homepage Link to Eden Theological Seminary page Link to Eden-Webster Library System page

History/Biography Databases

Core Databases for History ♦ Additional Related Databases ♦ Electronic Books and Reference Material ♦ Search multiple databases ♦ Find known article ♦ Articles & databases (all subjects)

Core Databases for History

Passwords for databases

America: History & Life
Focuses on the history of the United States and Canada from early times to present day.
Biography Resource Center
Biographies on individuals worldwide throughout history and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Historical Abstracts
Focuses on the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Combined search of America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
Search both databases at once for comprehensive coverage of articles and materials on all areas of history.

Additional Related Databases

Passwords for databases

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Includes articles on history, political science, the humanities, general sciences, and social sciences.
AP Photo Archive
Provides photographs from the Associated Press dating back to the 19th century.
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online
Current resources on international affairs.
JSTOR
Articles on the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
New York times (online)
The newspaper from its first issue in 1851 to 3 years ago
PAIS International (public affairs)
Focuses on literature concerned with public policy.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Includes anthropology, sociology, gerontology, minorities, etc.

Electronic Books and Reference Material

Passwords for databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides a combined search of a number of dictionaries and encyclopedias in various subject areas.
netLibrary
Provides the full-text of over 15,000 current and classic books in a variety of subject areas.

Search multiple databases simultaneously

Passwords for databases

Want to search two or more databases at once?
• History & Biography multi-database search

Find known article

Passwords for databases

If you already know the date and title of a journal in which a specific article appears, use:
•  Journal/Magazine/Newspaper A-Z list

^ top