Theatre & dance databases

Core databases for theatre & dance

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Journals, books, book articles, and dissertations of interest to theatre and dance students and professionals. more…
Academic Search Complete
Articles from journals covering many academic areas of study. more…
Dance in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Video collection of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. more…
North American Theatre Online (Alexander Street Press)
Collection of theatre reference resources and full-text plays. more…
On the Boards
High-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today‚Äôs artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that are leading the way in the evolution of the performing arts. more…
Play Index
Index to more than 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present. more…
Theatre in Video
Online streaming video of play performances & documentaries. more…

Databases for researching literature/dramatic works

American Film Scripts Online
Over 1,00 digitized film scripts searchable by numerous criteria. more…
Literature Criticism Online
Includes content from the Gale publication Drama Criticism covering playwrights & their works. more…
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline more…
MLA Bibliography
Essential index to publications on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes theatre, dance, and drama criticism and interpretation. more…

Image Databases

Architecture, Interiors and Furniture
Access to 1,900 images of architecture and interior decoration covering 2800 B.C. to late twentieth century from the eight volume slide collection Architecture, Interiors and Furniture by Stephen Sbarge. Textual description for images of each period is included as a PDF.
ARTstor
Over one million art images for research and teaching in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences. more…
CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
Images of art from museums worldwide. more…
History of Costume
Access to 1,488 images of costumes through the ages from the six volume slide collection History of Costume by Jeanne Button, Patricia Quinn Stuart and Stephen Sbarge. Textual description for images of each period is included as a PDF.

Additional article databases

Film & Television Literature Index
Theory, preservation and restoration, cinematography, etc. more…
JSTOR
Articles on the arts, humanities, and social sciences. more…
Project Muse
Articles covering literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies and more. more…

Books

Library Catalog
Catalog for Webster University and Eden Theological Seminary collection.
MOBIUS Catalog
Catalog for Missouri academic libraries statewide. Current Webster students, faculty and staff on Missouri campuses may request books online in the MOBIUS catalog.
OCLC WorldCat
Catalog of books and other materials owned by U.S libraries and some worldwide locations. more…
Salem Press - Decades in America
Salem Press History - Decades in America reference book collection from 1950s-1990s.

Other

Anatomy.tv Interactive Functional Anatomy
For dance students, this 3D anatomy database includes detailed multi-layer graphics of all areas of the human body.more…

Return to: Articles/databases page

More information:

Subject Librarian:

Find

Articles/databases

Books, etc./library catalog

eBooks

eReserves

In-house reserves

Videos/DVDs

About us

Service desk: 314-968-6952

Reference desk: 314-968-6950

Toll-free: 1-800-985-4279 (1-800-WU-LIBRY)

Hours

Contact us

Policies and procedures

Research help

Ask a Librarian

How do I?

Tutorials

Research Guides

Request books or articles

Citation guides

Thesis requirements

About the Library

Getting to the library

Reserve a room

Computing in the library

Assistive technology

Jobs