Management & human resources databases

Articles | Specialized articles | Company directories | eBooks | Industry data

Other databases for Entrepreneurs | Health admin. | Human resources | Information tech. | Marketing & international business | Security

Articles from trade magazines and journals (including peer-reviewed)

Business Source Complete Business Source Premier subscription upgrade
Start here to find articles on most business and management topics with indexing for over 25,000 periodicals and reports and over 7000 full-text titles not found in other business article databases. (more info...)
ABI/Inform Complete (from Proquest)
Covers hundreds of magazines and journals including articles from the Wall Street Journal. (more info...)
Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business & Company Resource Center)
Topical keyword searches may be entered in the main search bar, or use Advanced Search for more precise searching. (more info...)

Other general management article databases

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database covering business, social and political science, the arts, science and technology and current events. (more info...)
BizJournals
Digital/PDF copies of the current issues for all 40 plus newspapers published by American City Business Journals. (more info...)
Factiva New fall 2014
A broad range of news sources, business directory & financial data and other content provides US and global perspectives on most business issues including premier content from 200 countries in 26 languages. (more info...)
PsycInfo 1877-Current
Psychological articles on human behavior including management, organizational change, marketing, etc. (more info...)
Scopus
Provides indexing for thousands of business, science and technology journals (as opposed to magazines and trade publications), with links to many full-text sources.(more info...)
Wall Street Jounal
Provides the full-text of articles (no financial tables) from the Eastern edition of the newspaper from 1984 to the present. (more info...)

Company directories

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries (a Uniworld database)
Searchable directory of public and private American firms with headquarters, branches, subsidiaries, etc. in foreign countries. See also, Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Records may be printed but Excel download is unavailable. (more info...)
Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business & Company Resource Center)
A company search in the main search bar will link to a company profile, articles, company histories, investment reports, rankings, industry overviews for the company's lines of business and associations relevant to the company/industry. (more info...)
Foreign Firms Operating in the United States (a Uniworld database)
Searchable directory of public and private foreign firms with headquarters, branches, subsidiaries, etc. in the United States. See also, American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries. Records may be printed but Excel download is unavailable. (more info...)
Hoover's Company Records (via ABI/Inform Proquest)
Brief company profiles, financials, and competitor lists. (more info...)
Lexis-Nexis Academic
This database offers access to multiple company directories and can cover small to large companies in a single search. A guide to help you to find company profiles, SEC filings, SWOT reports, or to compare or make lists of companies by geographic location or industry is available at LexisNexis Academic Research Guides: Common Business Assignments (PDF).
ReferenceUSA
The U.S. Businesses module covers over 14 million verified business and organizations. Custom searching allows one to screen on company, executive, type (industry), geographical area or map, size, ownership, and financial data.
Sorkins Online (Fast login for MO and IL on-campus users)
Business, government, and non-profit directory for Chicago, St. Louis, and Kansas City. (more info...)

Note: Due to publisher restrictions, Sorkins is available to Webster Missouri and Illinois on-campus users only. (more info...)

eBooks and reference materials

NetLibrary
Our largest collect of online, full-text books contains over 17,000 current and classic eBooks in a variety of subject areas. (more info…)
Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities (Business College set)
Directories in accounting, economics & finance, management, and marketing can help users determine where to submit journal articles for publication. (more info…)
Credo Reference
Searchable entries from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, language dictionaries, etc. (more info…)
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries on business and other topics. (more info…)

Industry reports & financial ratios

BizMiner
Provides industry and geographic data, including both 3- and 5-year industry financial profiles and ratios. (more info...)
Business Monitor Online New fall 2014
Provides macroeconomic data, financial and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets. Covers 175 countries with quarterly forecasts and surveys in 20 key industry sectors for each country. (more info...)

D & B Key Business Ratios Subscription ended December 2010; use RMA eStatement Studies

IBISworld Industry Market Research
Provides market research reports on over 700 industries, including business environment, company research, and forecasts. (more info... )
RMA eStatement Studies
Provides three years of financial ratio benchmarks and industry default probabilities and cash flow measures for hundreds of industries. RMA formerly stood for Robert Morris Associates, but is now Risk Management Association.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Online access to Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. (more info...)

Other databases for specialized areas of management

Entrepreneurship and small business

Entrepreneurial Studies Source (an Ebscohost database)
Key periodicals, reference books, case studies, company profiles and full-length and video clips with transcripts relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. (more info...)
Proquest Entrepreneurship New fall 2014
Designed to provide entrepreneurs with resources to develop and research their ideas while providing valuable insight to help progress and grow their product or service. This collection includes video clips, business plans, market research, blog entries and company profiles from Hoovers. (more info...)

Health administration/ Health care management

American Hospital Directory
Searchable directory for more than 6,000 hospitals nationwide. (more info)
CCH IntelliConnect
CCH publications on health law including Medicare and Medicaid and occupational safety. (more info and search tips...)
Medline w/Fulltext (EbscoHost)
Indexes publications formerly covered by the Hospitial & Health Administration Index.(more info)
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
This database assists decision-makers in the world of professional health care by providing information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments and procedures. (more info)

Human resource management & development

CCH IntelliConnect
CCH publications on human resources, employment & health law, and occupational safety. (more info and search tips...)
ERIC (education)
Extensive coverage of education and training issues. (more info...)

Information technology management

ACM Digital Library
General and technical articles from the Assoc. for Computing Machinery. (more info...)
Emerald Fulltext
Contains articles from over 100 management and information science periodicals. (more info...)
Scopus
Scopus is a major index for scientific, medical, technical, and social science journals - over 16,000 of which are peer reviewed. (more info ...)

Marketing & international business

BizMiner
Market Research Reports provide industry trends for 16,000 lines of business in 300 U.S. markets. The Competitive Market Analysis allows one to customize a competitive report for your firm, industry or market area down to the zip code level.(more info...)
Business Monitor Online New fall 2014
Provides macroeconomic data, financial and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets. Covers 175 countries with quarterly forecasts and surveys in 20 key industry sectors for each country. (more info...)
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
This resource provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Data sources include the US Census Bureau, the China Data Center and the International Financial Statistics from the International Monetary Fund. For ease of access, browse by source on the left navigation menu. (more info...)
EIU ViewsWire
Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit, this newletter provides expert analysis of the political, economic, business, financial, and regulatory conditions for countries worldwide. Delivered via ABI. Click on the "Location" tab to browse information by country.
Local Market Audience Analyst (Choose "Local Market Audiences" on the left navigation bar.)
A research tool from Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) Media Solutions that delivers demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers. Market Profile, Lifestyle Analysis, Demographic, and PRIZM reports are available (more info...)
MRI+ / MRI Plus
The Mediamark Reporter provides access to adult consumers' product usage and media choices. (more info...)
Proquest Asian Business & Reference New fall 2014
Offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. Provides insights into international trade via news, country information and statistics, and policy and analysis documents. (more info...)
ReferenceUSA
The U.S. Businesses module covers over 14 million verified business and organizations and allows one to create competitive reports on companies, types (industries), geographical areas or maps, size, and financial data. The US Consumers / Lifestyles module covers 203 million American households and allows searching by name, geography, housing, lifestyles, and sensitive data from consumer snapshot market research.

Security management

GPO (Government Printing Office)
Includes citations and indexing for all types of U.S. government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.(more info...)
Military & Government Collection
Current periodicals and government documents covering all branches of the military and the government. (more info...)
Protection of Assets (POA) Manual Online Subscription canceled March 2015

Return to: Articles / databases page

More information:

Research guides:

Subject Librarian:

Find

Articles/databases

Books, etc./library catalog

eBooks

eReserves

In-house reserves

Videos/DVDs

About us

Service desk: 314-968-6952

Reference desk: 314-968-6950

Toll-free: 1-800-985-4279 (1-800-WU-LIBRY)

Hours

Contact us

Policies and procedures

Research help

Ask a Librarian

How do I?

Tutorials

Research Guides

Request books or articles

Citation guides

Thesis requirements

About the Library

Getting to the library

Reserve a room

Computing in the library

Assistive technology

Jobs