Business & finance databases

Articles | Company directories | eBooks | Financials & investing | Industry data & ratios
Other databases for Business law | Business valuation | International business

Articles from journals (including peer-reviewed) and business & trade magazines

Business Source Complete Business Source Premier subscription upgrade
Start here to find articles on most business and management topics with indexing for over 25,000 periodicals and reports and over 7000 full-text titles not found in other business article databases. (more info...)
ABI/Inform Complete (from Proquest)
Covers hundreds of magazines and journals including articles from the Wall Street Journal. (more info...)
Proquest Accounting & Tax
Covers top journals from sources such as the American Accounting Association and reference reports, tax law and publications from AICPA. (more info...)
Proquest Banking Information Sources
Covers journals, industry and professional newsletters and papers about the financial services market. (more info...)

News and industry/trade articles

BizJournals
Digital/PDF copies of the current issues for all 40 plus newspapers published by American City Business Journals. (more info...)
Factiva
A broad range of news sources provides US and global perspectives. (more info...)
Wall Street Jounal
Provides the full-text of articles (no financial tables) from the Eastern edition of the newspaper from 1984 to the present. (more info...)

Company directories -- general / worldwide

Business Source Complete Business Source Premier subscription upgrade
Use the Company Information search (located above the search boxes) to find a directory listing with links to financials, subsidiaries, products, executives, industry and related periodical articles, SWOT analyses, industry and market research reports. (more info...)
Factiva
A broad range of news sources, business directory & financial data and other content provides US and global perspectives on most business issues. Use the Company/Markets tab to search by company name. (more info...)
Hoover's Company Records (via ABI/Inform Proquest)
Brief company profiles, financials, and competitor lists. (more info...)
Lexis-Nexis Academic
This database offers access to multiple company directories and can cover small to large companies in a single search. A guide to help you to find company profiles, SEC filings, SWOT reports, or to compare or make lists of companies by geographic location or industry is available at LexisNexis Academic Research Guides: Common Business Assignments (PDF).
Business Insights: Essentials
Information on companies and industries with news, statistics, SWOT analysis. Access to this database ended on June 30, 2015. Follow the title link above for other databases that provide access to similar content.

Company directories -- specialized / geographic limits

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries (a Uniworld database)
Searchable directory of public and private American firms with headquarters, branches, subsidiaries, etc. in foreign countries. Records may be printed but Excel download is unavailable. (more info...)
Foreign Firms Operating in the United States (a Uniworld database)
Searchable directory of public and private foreign firms with headquarters, branches, subsidiaries, etc. in the United States. Records may be printed but Excel download is unavailable. (more info...)
ReferenceUSA
The U.S. Businesses module covers over 14 million verified business and organizations. Custom searching allows one to screen on company, executive, type (industry), geographical area or map, size, ownership, and financial data.
Sorkins Online (Fast login for MO and IL on-campus users)
Business, government, and non-profit directory for Chicago, St. Louis, and Kansas City. (more info...)

Note: Due to publisher restrictions, Sorkins is available to Webster Missouri and Illinois on-campus users only.(more info...)

eBooks and reference materials

ebrary (a Proquest database)
Our biggest scholarly eBook collection with more than 50,000 titles. (more info…)
eBook Collection (an Ebscohost database)
Online, full-text book collection that contains current and classic eBooks in a variety of subject areas.(more info…)

Note: To search across ebrary and the Ebsco eBook Collection, use the eBook Search Express form.

Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities (Business College set)
Directories in accounting, economics & finance, management, and marketing can help users determine where to submit periodical articles for publication. (more info…)
Credo Reference
Searchable entries from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, language dictionaries, etc. (more info…)
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries on business and other topics. (more info…)

Financial statements & investment reports

Factiva
Financials, peer comparisons and news from U.S. and foreign companies may be found using the Companies/Markets tab. (more info...)
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Offers financials for U. S. and international companies from the Get Company Info Easy Search. A guide to help you to find company profiles, SEC filings, SWOT reports, or to compare or make lists of companies by geographic location or industry is available at LexisNexis Academic Research Guides: Common Business Assignments (PDF).
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Contains thousands of stock, mutual fund, and analyst reports; Morningstar ratings; tools to evaluate your portfolio; and educational resources.(more info...)
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
The Business Intelligence package provides an integrated search platform to company financial data including the Compustat Excel Analytics module. (more info...)
TWST: The Wall Street Transcript Newsletter available via Business Source Complete publication search
Provides interviews with corporate CEOs, round tables, money managers and major and niche investment sector analysts. (more info...)
Value Line Investment Survey Standard ed.
Includes current year of information on large cap stocks and industries. (more info...)
Business Insights: Essentials
Information on companies and industries with news, financials and SWOT analysis. Access to this database ended on June 30, 2015. Follow the title link above for other databases that provide access to similar content.

Industry reports and Industry averages / financial ratios

BizMiner
For small to medium-sized businesses, provides aggregated financials and industry ratios. (more info...)
Business Monitor Online New fall 2014
Provides macroeconomic data, financial and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets. Covers 175 countries with quarterly forecasts and surveys in 20 key industry sectors for each country. (more info...)

D & B Key Business Ratios Subscription ended December 2010; use RMA eStatement Studies

IBISworld Industry Market Research
Provides market research reports on over 700 industries, including business environment, company research, and forecasts. (more info... )
RMA eStatement Studies
Provides 3-5 years of industry average or financial ratio benchmarks (FRB) and industry default probabilities (IDP) and cash flow measures for hundreds of industries. (more info... )
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Online access to Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. (more info...)
TWST: The Wall Street Transcript Newsletter available via Business Source Complete publication search
Provides interviews with corporate CEOs, round tables, money managers and major and niche investment sector analysts. (more info...)

Other databases for specialized areas of business

Business law cases and practice

CCH IntelliConnect
CCH practice publications on employment & labor law; safety & OSHA regulations; and health law including FDA materials and applicable federal and state case law. (more info and search tips...)
FDsys: Federal Digital System
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, including the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register and U.S. Code. Click the more info... link to find search tutorials.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Select Look up a Legal Case to access state & federal case law and law review articles. Click Search By Content Type to access federal and state statutes and regulations and international legal materials. (more info..)
Loislaw (access to MO Bar CLE deskbooks)
Access to Missouri Bar Continuing Legal Education deskbooks. Topics include major areas of law: civil, criminal, employment, environmental, estate, intellectual property, etc.

Business valuation

BIZCOMPS (part of BVMarketData)
Reports transactions of small private "main street" businesses. (more info...)
BizMiner
Provides industry and geographic data, including both 3- and 5-year industry financial profiles and ratios. (more info...)
BVLaw (part of BVLibrary.com)
Full-text of federal and state court decisions and IRS materials on valuation. (more info...)
BVResearch (part of BVLibrary.com)
Searchable collection of business valuation research papers, articles, industry surveys, etc. (more info...)
Deluxe BVUpdate (part of BVlibrary.com)
Timely, concise, authoritative, access to the business valuation literature. (more info...)
DoneDeals Online
Provides merger and acquisition details for private and public mid-market companies sold for purchase prices between $1 million and $1 billion. (more info...)
Economic Outlook Update (part of BVlibrary.com)
Quarterly issues contain the relevant economic data needed to prepare a thorough business valuation report. (more info...)
Mergerstat / BVR Control Premium Study (part of BVMarketData)
Quantifies the minority discount and control premium data used in business valuation and appraisals of public companies.(more info...)
Pratt's Stats (part of BVMarketData)
Highlights the details of sales of large privately and closely held companies. (more info...)
Public Stats (part of BVMarketData)
Reports transaction details of public company sales. (more info...)

International business

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries (a Uniworld database)
Searchable directory of public and private American firms with headquarters, branches, subsidiaries, etc. in foreign countries. Records may be printed but Excel download is unavailable. (more info...)
Foreign Firms Operating in the United States (a Uniworld database)
Searchable directory of public and private foreign firms with headquarters, branches, subsidiaries, etc. in the United States. Records may be printed but Excel download is unavailable. (more info...)
Business Monitor Online
Provides macroeconomic data, financial and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets. Covers 175 countries with quarterly forecasts and surveys in 20 key industry sectors for each country. (more info...)
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
This resource provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Data sources include the US Census Bureau, the China Data Center and the International Financial Statistics from the International Monetary Fund. For ease of access, browse by source on the left navigation menu. (more info...)
EIU ViewsWire
Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit, this newletter provides expert analysis of the political, economic, business, financial, and regulatory conditions for countries worldwide. Delivered via ABI. Click on the "Location" tab to browse information by country.
Proquest Asian Business & Reference
Offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. Provides insights into international trade via news, country information and statistics, and policy and analysis documents. (more info...)

Return to: Articles / databases page

More information:

Research guides:

Subject Librarian:

Find

Articles/databases

Books, etc./library catalog

eBooks

eReserves

In-house reserves

Videos/DVDs

About us

Service desk: 314-968-6952

Reference desk: 314-968-6950

Toll-free: 1-800-985-4279 (1-800-WU-LIBRY)

Hours

Contact us

Policies and procedures

Research help

Ask a Librarian

How do I?

Tutorials

Research Guides

Request books or articles

Citation guides

Thesis requirements

About the Library

Getting to the library

Reserve a room

Computing in the library

Assistive technology

Jobs