A-Z database descriptions

The databases listed below are available via the Internet to students, faculty, and staff of Webster University. For a list of databases grouped by subject, see our main database page. For information on how to cite materials from electronic databases in research papers, see our Citation Guides page.

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W |

-A-

ABI/Inform Complete (a Bell & Howell ProQuest database)
This well known database indexes and provides abstracts for articles from almost 1600 leading business and management publications, including over 350 English-language titles from outside the U.S. The full-text or complete articles are available from more than 800 periodical titles. ABI/Inform Complete combines coverage from three sources: ABI/Inform Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.proquest.com
Academic Search Premier (an EbscoHost database)
| Database Journal List |
A scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database with indexing and abstracts for nearly 3,930 scholarly journals (many dating back to 1984). Full-text is available for over 2,940 scholarly publications. The database covers nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Academic Universe; see LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
ACM Digital Library
Produced by the Association for Computing Machinery. This database offers the full-text of ACM journal publications and selected conference proceedings. Topics include networks, computer-human interaction, databases, modeling and simulations, system security, programming languages, and software engineering.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.acm.org
America: History & Life (an Ebscohost database)
Focuses on the history of the United States and Canada from early times to present day. Includes related disciplines such as sociology, popular culture, gender issues, anthropology, literature, folklore, history of various disciplines, etc. Lists articles from journals published worldwide as well as book and media reviews and dissertations. Covers literature published from 1964 to present. For world history, see the Historical Abstracts database.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Anesthesia Abstracts
Anesthesia Abstracts is an electronic journal that summarizes and analyzes articles from a wide variety of health science publications. Each month, Anesthesia Abstracts provides the busy anesthetist with a synopsis of key articles important to clinical practice. Abstracts are accompanied by expert analysis and commentary by CRNA contributing editors.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.anesthesiaabstracts.com
AnthroSource
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.anthrosource.net
AP Photo Archive
Provides photographs from the Associated Press dating back to the 19th century. Updated daily.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.apwideworld.com
ArchiveGrid
Helps researchers find historical papers and archival collections available at libraries, museums, historical societies and other repositories worldwide. Users can search by keyword and connect to the repositories holding the documents for more information.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
Art Full Text (a Wilson database)
Provides broad coverage of art topics including art history, architecture, advertising, archaelogy, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, and film. The database provides citations and abstracts from over 400 leading international art publications from 1984 to present and full text articles from nearly 120 journals from 1997 to present.
Search tips for Wilson Art Databases [PDF]
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.hwwilson.com
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (a Wilson database)
Indexes almost 600 international art publications covering 55 years of art journalism. A good resource to find "contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track a body of work of an artist or movement" as well as artist interviews, commentary, art reproductions and coverage of all art subjects in journals published from 1929 to 1984.
Search tips for Wilson Art Databases [PDF]
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.hwwilson.com
ARTBibliographies Modern
Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art including performance art, installation works, video art, computer and electronic art and more, as well as the traditional fine arts. Subject coverage spans artists and movements of the late 19th century to current trends and works of the present. It offers abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews from volumes covering 1974 to the present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.csa.com
ArticleFirst; see OCLC ArticleFirst

Arts & Humanities Search (a FirstSearch database)
Indexes more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from more than 5,800 social science and science journals. It is the online equivalent of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (formerly ATLAS) (an Ebscohost database)
Covers periodicals, multi-author works, and book reviews in all areas of religion, church history, theology, and pastoral counseling. Some journals are indexed as far back as 1924.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com

top of page ↑

-B-

Biography Resource Center (a Gale database)
A comprehensive biographical reference database that provides more than 300,000 narrative biographies on noteworthy individuals from around the world, throughout history and across all disciplines and subject areas. Information is drawn from nearly 80 Gale biographical sources such as The Complete Marquis Who's Who, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of American Biography, Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives, Encyclopedia of World Biography, as well as full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.gale.com
Biological Abstracts (an EbscoHost database)
A comprehensive life science database that covers agriculture, biochemistry, biology, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Coverage is from 1969 to present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
BIZCOMPS (part of BVMarketData)
Reports transactions of small private "Main Street" Businesses.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.bvmarketdata.com
BizJournals
Digital/PDF copies of the current issues for all 40 plus newspapers published by American City Business Journals. Includes the St Louis Business Journal and the current Book of Lists for each city/regional newspaper. The 10-year archive covers article text only (i.e. not full PDF content).
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://bizjournals.com
BizMiner
Provides financial and industry data for over 16,000 lines of business in 300 U.S. markets, including both 3- and 5-year industry financial profiles and ratios.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.bizminer.com
Books in Print
Lists books, audios, and videos in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming from U.S. publishers. Various browsing and searching options are offered. Special features include: reviews for selected items, information on Award winners, bestseller lists, a publisher directory, biographical information on major authors, a Fiction Room which permits specialized searches (e.g. by character name), and the ability for users to create lists or bibliographies of titles from the database.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.bowker.com
Business & Company Resource Center (a Gale database)
Provides company and industry profiles, financial information, numerous full-text articles and investment reports. Users can search by various criteria, including company, industry or personal name, ticker symbol, geographic region, subject, and SIC/NAICS code.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.gale.com
Business Source Premier (an EbscoHost database)
| Database Journal List |
Offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,680 business periodicals with coverage including over 800 peer-reviewed titles. Full-text is available for nearly 2,140 business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, marketing and more. Periodicals covered full-text range from Business Week, Forbes, Fortune and American Banker to academic peer- reviewed journals such as Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, Academy of Management Review, and many more. Full-text coverage begins in 1990 for many journals. The database includes a directory of over 1.4 million company records from Dun & Bradstreet.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
BVlibrary.com
Features two databases: Deluxe BVUpdate which provides timely, concise, authoritative, access to the business valuation literature presented in books, articles, and court cases allowing you to keep abreast of the current theory and practice in the field. Economic Outlook Update contains the relevant economic data needed to prepare a thorough business valuation report.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.bvlibrary.com
BVMarketData
BVMarketData provides access to 5 unique resources: Pratt's Stats highlights the details of sales of large privately and closely held companies; BIZCOMPS reports transactions of small private "Main Street" businesses; Mergerstat quantifies the minority discount and control premium data used in business valuation and appraisals of public companies; and Public Stats reports transaction details of public company sales.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.bvmarketdata.com

top of page ↑

-C-

CABI Environmental Impact
A comprehensive resource on climate change, biodiversity, pollution, and other influences of humans on the biosphere. Contains an abstracts database, news articles, e-books, reports, reviews, links to research organizations, and calendar of events.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.cabi.org
CAMIO
CAMIO – Catalog of Art Museum Images Online offers about 95,000 images of art works in museums worldwide. Works include painting, drawing, sculpture, photographs, prints, decorative art, costume, architecture and more. All images are rights-cleared for educational use.
CCH IntelliConnect Fall 2009 new name & look: IntelliConnect Quick Reference card (PDF)
CCH publications on current news, practices, guidelines, cases, laws, and regulations regarding human resource management, employment and health law, occupational safety, pension, payroll, benefits, etc.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.intelliconnect.cch.com
Central Search
Central Search is a "federated search" product that allows numerous databases to be searched simultaneously. Users may choose to do a mega search of all included databases, select individual databases, or use one of the subject categories provided. Central Search is helpful when you have no idea where to start and want to see which databases may yield the most information on a topic.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.serialssolutions.com
Choice Reviews Online
"Reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education" issued in the print magazine Choice.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.cro2.org
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online
A collection of resources on international affairs with the full-text of over 400 working papers from over 40 institutions worldwide, indexing of several leading journals in the field, conference proceedings and papers, links to selected websites, and full-text for selected books from Columbia University Press.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ciaonet.org
CINAHL with Full Text (an Ebscohost database)
The Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature indexes nearly 800 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals, as well as publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Allied health fields covered include emergency services, lab technology, occupational and physical therapy.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
ClasePeriodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences, humanities, and social sciences. Combines CLASE (Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades), which indexes documents published in journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities and PERIODICA, which covers journals specializing in science and technology. Offers access to bibliographic citations from documents published in scholarly journals in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (an Ebscohost database)
A bibliography of controlled trials compiled as part of an international effort to provide systematic reviews. Information is culled from MEDLINE, conference proceedings, and other sources. Database is updated quarterly.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Cochrane Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness; see Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) (an Ebscohost database)
A full-text database of healthcare articles and protocols analyzed from an evidence-based medicine perspective to provide data with minimal bias. Reviews must meet the Cochrane Group’s quality standards. Database is updated quarterly.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
An index to poetry that has appeared in anthologies through the years. The online version also provides the full-text of thousands of poems as well as commentaries and biographies on leading poems and poets. A glossary of terms is included.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.columbiagrangers.org
Communication & Mass Media Complete (an EbscoHost database)
Includes the content from two established indexes, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, as well as other major journals in these disciplines. The full-text for over 200 titles is provided.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Contemporary Women's Issues (a FirstSearch database)
Collects information from journals, newsletters, reports, fact sheets etc. on women's issues worldwide. Multidisciplinary in scope. Full-text coverage from 1992 to present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
"...searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material." (publisher's description). Specialized features include the ability to search by symptoms or therapies. Reference works include various handbooks related to counseling and working with specific populations.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.alexanderstreet.com
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Online collection of video from actual counseling sessions, interviews, presentations, and consultations. Users can search by subject, therapy, therapist, etc. You can also create playlists of video clips.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.alexanderstreet.com
Credo Reference
Searchable online collection of over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, biographies, language dictionaries, and other reference titles from 60 international publishers. Its subjects including art, business, history, language & literature, medicine, social sciences, science & technology, and more. It has over 3 million entries; 200,000 audio pronunciation files; 50,000+ art, science, and medical images; and 90,000 atlas images of places and geographic features throughout the world.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.credoreference.com
The CQ Researcher (online)
Provides brief reports on current issues in the news. Most reports include background information, a chronology, opposing viewpoints, statistics, and a bibliography.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.cqpress.com
Current Research@Webster; see Dissertations & Theses @ Webster University

top of page ↑

-D-

D&B Key Business Ratios
Provides selected industry ratios in three major areas: solvency, efficiency, and profitability. Users can search by various means, including SIC code, line of business, asset range, and year. Data can be exported to a spreadsheet for further analysis. Includes the latest three years for which data are available.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.dnb.com
Dance in Video
An online video collection of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century with selections covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental and improvisations dance as well as forerunners of form and pioneers of modern concert dance. Content can be searched or browsed by composer, choreographer, genre, performer, ensemble, and role. Users can create and share playlists for course or individual use.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://alexanderstreet.com
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (an Ebscohost database)
An international database of abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care. These reviews have been critically analyzed by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, England. DARE’s abstracts include a description of the systematic reviews methodology, results and conclusions. Part of the Cochrane Library.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Deluxe BVUpdate (part of BVlibrary.com)
Provides timely, concise, authoritative, access to the business valuation literature presented in books, articles, and court cases allowing you to keep abreast of the current theory and practice in the field.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.bvlibrary.com
Discovering Collection
Biographies and essays on subject areas such as literature, history, science, government, cultures, and social studies. Users can search by type of source including creative works, reference, statistics, primary sources and multimedia (photographs, video and audio clips, etc.).
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.galegroup.com
Discovery Education streaming
Segments from thousands of educational videos from Discovery School and other producers are provided. Segments cover areas such as science, mathematics, art, health, professional development, careers, language arts, social studies, visual and performing arts, research, and world languages. Corresponding state standards (including Canada and Australia) are given for each video.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://streaming.discoveryeducation.com
Dissertations & Theses @ Webster University
Contains Webster doctoral dissertations and masters level theses submitted summer, 2005 to the present. Webster faculty, staff, and students may view the full text for free (pdf files require the Adobe Acrobat Reader.)
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.umi.com
Dissertation Abstracts Online (a FirstSearch database)
Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S institutions since 1861. It selectively covers masters theses, Canadian dissertations, and British and other European dissertations.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
DoneDeals Online
Provides merger and acquisition details for private and public mid-market companies sold for purchase prices between $1 million and $1 billion. Searchable by: closing date, S.I.C. industry, price, buyer, seller, private or public company, location, keyword.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.donedeals.com
DRAM: the Database of Recorded American Music
A collection of sound recordings documenting American music largely ignored by the commercial recording companies. Works can be browsed by work, album or track titles, as well as by artist roles, and date of recording and composition. Some biographical and role information are provided for artists. (Technical note)
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.dramonline.org

top of page ↑

-E-

ECO; see OCLC FirstSearch Electronic Collections Online

Economic Outlook Update (part of BVlibrary.com)
Each quarterly issue contains the relevant economic data needed to prepare a thorough business valuation report. Includes general economic and investment conditions; consumer prices, spending and confidence; inflation and interest rates; unemployment; stock and bond markets; energy prices; and construction and manufacturing data.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.bvlibrary.com

eHRAF World Cultures
Ethnographic studies from the Human Relations Area Files. Covers all aspects of social and cultural life for over 127 cultures worldwide. Searchable by topic, culture, or region.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following URL: http://www.yale.edu/hraf

EIU ViewsWire (an Economic Intelligence Unit database)
This comprehensive database provides expert analysis of current and trend data for the political, economic, business, financial, and regulatory conditions for 195 countries. Also contains much of the content formerly available via EIU's Investing, Licensing & Trading (ILT) database.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following URL: http://www.viewswire.com

EJS E-journals (an EbscoHost database)
"E-Journals from EBSCOhost® provides access to electronic journals and full text of articles for journals managed through EBSCOhost® Electronic Journals Service (EJS), as well as usage of SmartLinks in EBSCOhost." (vendor description)
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Emerald fulltext
Contains articles from over 100 management and library and information science journals, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Covers major disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, marketing and human resource management.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following URL: http://www.emeraldinsight.com
Encyclopaedia Britannica online
A source for current and historical information on virtually any subject. Users can search the database for encyclopedia articles and selected web sites, or browse the World Atlas, Year in Review, or Timeline areas. A dictionary and thesaurus are also available.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.eb.com
ERIC (an Ebscohost database)
This database from the Educational Resource Information Center combines coverage of Resources in Education (RIE) and Journals in Education (CIJE) to provide access to journal articles and ERIC documents. All aspects of education are covered in this database. Covers 1966 to the present. The Webster University Library has ERIC Documents on microfiche with numbers from ED348466 to ED483046. Some ERIC documents are available full-text from the U.S. Department of Education ERIC website. ERIC also connects to another database to provide full-text for selected articles.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Europa World
Presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations. Features statistical data and directories.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.europaworld.com

top of page ↑

-F-

Family & Society Studies Worldwide
A comprehensive index to the literature on marriage and the family, parenting, gender issues, sexuality and reproduction, etc. It includes records from the Inventory of Marriage and Family Literature and the Australian Family and Society Abstracts. Coverage from 1970-present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscocom
Film & Television Literature Index
An index specializing in "film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews." (vendor description). Covers from 1988 to present with selective coverage of earlier literature.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
FirstSearch; see OCLC FirstSearch Electronic Collections Online

-G-

Gale Virtual Reference Library (a Gale database)
Provides a combined search of a number of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources in various subject areas. Users may also choose to search for content in a single source from the collection.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.gale.com
Gender Studies Database
Features extensive coverage of the social sciences literature related to gender issues. The database combines 12 files, including Women's Studies International, Men's Studies, and Sexual Diversity Studies, the latter with an emphasis on gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities. Indexes books, dissertations, conference papers, scholarly and popular periodicals, and selected websites. Coverage varies but much is from 1972 to the present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebsco.com
GPO (Government Printing Office)
Includes citations and indexing for all types of U.S. government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
Grove Art Online; see Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art Online)
Grovemusic; see Oxford Music Online

top of page ↑

-H-

HRAF (Human Relations Area Files; see eHRAF
Historical Abstracts (an EbscoHost database)
Focuses on the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes related disciplines, such as multicultural studies, psychology, religion, political science, etc. Provides worldwide coverage of the journal literature in history, selected book reviews, and references to dissertations. Covers literature published from 1955 to present. For U.S. and Canadian history, see the America: History and Life database.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com

-I-

IIMP Full Text (International Index to Music Periodicals) (a Chadwyck-Healey database)
An index to periodical literature with abstracts to current articles and selected full-text. Covers scholarly and popular periodicals on all genres of music. Indexes almost 400 international periodicals and includes selected articles from The New York Times and The Washington Post. Indexing coverage from about 1900; selected full-text from 1997 to present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.chadwyck.com
Industry Market Research
Published by IBISWorld. Business reports in four categories: industry market research, business environment, company research, and global industry. Can be searched by NAICS or SIC codes, keyword or company name; can be browsed by type of industry in the U.S. and Australia. Over 700 reports are available.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ibisworld.com
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
This database covers all aspects of theatre and performance with indexing of over 60,000 journals, books, book articles, and dissertations of interest to theatre and dance students and professionals. IBTD offers over 140 full-text journals (such as Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more); and more than 300 full-text books & monographs (such as Avant Garde Theatre, British Realist Theatre, History of European Drama and Theatre, Learning Through Theatre, Opera, Performance Theory, Shakespeare, Theory and Performance, Theatre and the World, Twentieth-Century Actor Training, Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre, World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre and many more).
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Integra 5-Year Industry Reports has been canceled; see BizMiner
iPoll (Roper Center)
Comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://roperweb.ropercenter.uconn.edu/

-J-

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital archive of scholarly journals. Note that our subscription is for the following collections: Arts & Sciences II and Arts & Sciences III. Subject areas covered by these two collections include: economics, history, Asian studies, archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies, language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.jstor.org

-K-

The Kansas City Star (a Newsbank database)
Has the full-text of the newspaper from 1991 to present. Updated daily.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.newsbank.com
Kids Search
A middle school/junion high school level search engine that pulls content from the following databases: ERIC, Primary Search, Newspaper Source, Academic Search Premier, EBSCO Animals, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com

top of page ↑

-L-

Learning Express
Offers a collection of practice tests and tutorials to prepare for academic and licensing tests. Categories for test preparation include graduate school entrance exams (GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT); Business Writing Skills; Civil Service; Military; Nursing; Resume and Interviewing Success Skills; TOEFL and many more. Note: users will need to create a unique user name and password to view the tests.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.learningexpresslibrary.com
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
| Database Journal List |
An excellent source for legal, government, political, business, medical, and general information. Includes standard federal and state statutory and case law materials, as well as law reviews and periodicals. Features industry and company financial information and news, statistical profiles of states and countries, and a variety of reference information. Includes many full-text newspapers, such as the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1989- ) and the New York Times (1980- ).
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.lexis-nexis.com
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (an EBSCO database)
Provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Coverage from the mid-1960s to the present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Literature Criticism Online (a Gale database)
Contains content from 5 publications in the Gale Literary Criticism series offering modern and historical literary commentary on authors and their works. Complete volume coverage is available online for series titles:Contemporary Literary Criticism and Drama Criticism. Online content begins with the 2007 volumes of the following series titles: Short Story Criticism, Children's Literature Review and Poetry Criticism. For content in volumes published before 2007, consult the print volumes shelved in the library's reference collection.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://galenet.galegroup.com
Literature Resource Center (a Gale database)
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. LRC offers full-text articles from over 70 literary periodicals, plot summaries, critical essays on 2,500 most studied authors, links to web sites and Merriam Webster's The Encyclopedia of Literature. Searches can be done by author name, title, genre, literary movement or theme or by a combination of these criteria. LRC includes content from recognized Gale print reference sources such as Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, the Gale Literary Criticism Series, Drama Criticism, Children's Literature Review and many others. An additional component is the Twayne's Authors Series featuring content of nearly 600 books of literary criticism.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.galenet.galegroup.com
LWW Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection
This full-text collection encompasses over 60 journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins in the nursing and healthcare fields. Among the titles are AJN American Journal of Nursing, Nursing Research, Nurse Educator, and JONA Journal of Nursing Administration.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://gateway.ovid.com

top of page ↑

-M-

MAS Ultra: School Edition (an EbscoHost database)
A general reference database designed for high school and junior college students. It provides articles and reports from hundreds of K-12 magazines, Essential Documents in American History ( a database of over 1,000 original historical documents), CIA World Factbook, Magill's Book Reviews, and full text for many Macmillan reference books.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
MediaMark; see MRI+
Medline (an Ebscohost database)
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this database covers all areas of medicine. The database indexes 3,500+ journals published internationally. Subjects include clinical medicine, dentistry, education, experimental medicine, health services administration, nursing, nutrition, pathology, psychiatry, toxicology, and veterinary medicine. Bibliographic records cover 1965 to present. Most records from 1975 to the present include abstracts.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Mental Measurements Yearbook (an EbscoHost database)
Contains critical reviews and descriptive information for more than 1,000 commercially available instruments.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Mergent Online
An excellent source for information on U.S. public companies and international companies. Search by company name or ticker symbol, or create a search using criteria such as financial data, ratios, or industry codes. Information for each company typically includes financial data (which can be downloaded to Excel), selected ratios, news, history, subsidiaries, stock, executives, etc. You can even select companies for comparison purposes. Brief descriptive country profiles are also available.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.mergent.com
Mergerstat (part of BVMarketData)
Quantifies the minority discount and control premium data used in business valuation and appraisals of public companies.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.bvmarketdata.com
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series
A wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine .
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.Thomsonhc.com
Military and Intelligence Database (a Gale/MOREnet database)
Covers 500 titles and more than 7 million articles with links to related sources outside of the current article including reference books (e.g. World Almanac and Book of Facts), newsletters (e.g. Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents), and images.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.galegroup.com
Misertrade; see WISERTrade

MLA Bibliography (an EbscoHost database)
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, this database provides over one million citations for items from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It indexes journals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Coverage is from 1963 to the present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
MOREnet Databases
A collection of databases purchased by the Missouri State Library primarily to support public and school libraries.
MOREnet Full-text Newspapers(a Newsbank database)
Includes the Kansas City Star and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch which can be searched simultaneously or separately.
MRI+ / MRI Plus (a Mediamark Research & Intelligence database)
Based on MRI's Survey of the American Consumer, the Mediamark Reporter provides access to adult consumers' media choices, product usage, demographics, lifestyle and attitudes. The survey covers nearly 6,000 product and service brands across 550 categories and media usage including periodicals, Internet, TV, radio and out-of-home exposure. New Users: Mediamark provides a PowerPoint tutorial on How to Use MRI's University Reporter.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.mediamark.com
Music Index Online (an Ebscohost database)
Indexes over 640 international music periodicals. Articles listed cover all types of music, from classical to popular, and include reviews, obituaries, listings of dissertations, etc. Coverage from 1979-present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Music Online (Alexander Street Press)
A comprehensive music resource for the study of classical, jazz, world, and American music with streaming audio and video content, full-text reference materials, and musical scores.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://alexanderstreet.com

top of page ↑

-N-

Natural Standard
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which are designed to facilitate clinical decision making.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.naturalstandard.com
Naxos Music Library
Provides over 75,000 tracks of music, mostly classical, with some jazz, folk, and world (especially Chinese). The complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues are included. Users can also access biographical information on selected composers or artists and notes on various pieces of music.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.naxosmusiclibrary.com
Naxos Music Library Jazz
"Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers close to 20,000 tracks of jazz from over 1,850 albums. Over 500 jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B." (vendor description).
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.naxosmusiclibrary.com
NetFirst; see OCLC WorldCat
NetLibrary
Provides the full-text of over 14,500 current and classic books in a variety of subject areas.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.netlibrary.com
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians; see Oxford Music Online (formerly Grovemusic)
New Grove Dictionary of Opera Online; see Oxford Music Online (formerly Grovemusic)
New York Review of Books Online
Access to the current issue and links to podcasts and the searchable archives of issues back to 1963.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.nybooks.com
New Testament Abstracts (an EbscoHost database)
Covers articles, books, reviews, and software related to the study of the New Testament and related topics. Article indexing from 1985 to present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
New York Times (online)
Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date (for current New York Times articles, see the Lexis-Nexis Academic database). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.umi.com

top of page ↑

-O-

OAIster
A catalog of text, audio, image, and movie digital resources from sources worldwide. Users can search by keyword and limit to a particular format (e.g. limit to image to find photographs). Links are provided to connect you to the actual image online.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
OCLC ArticleFirst (a FirstSearch database)
A keyword index of articles from more than 13,000 journals in all disciplines.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
OCLC FirstSearch Electronic Collections Online
Provides indexing and some full-text of articles from journals published in many different subject areas.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
OCLC PapersFirst (a FirstSearch database)
Lists citations to papers presented at worldwide meetings and conferences in all disciplines. The meetings themselves are listed in ProceedingsFirst.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
OCLC WorldCat (a FirstSearch database)
Contains records for books and other materials owned by OCLC member libraries worldwide. More than 56 million records dating from about 1000 A.D. to the present. New records are added daily. Each record indicates libraries that hold that item. In addition, this database now includes records from OCLC NetFirst which provide subject headings and descriptions of Internet resources.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
Old Testament Abstracts (an EbscoHost database)
"Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978." (database description from vendor)
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Opera in Video
A streaming video database that will, upon completion, contain approximately 250 important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. As of August 2009, includes 108 operas, equaling 320 hours of video.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://alexanderstreet.com
Oxford Art Online
Includes Grove Art Online, the foremost art encyclopedia offering scholarly articles and links to over 5,000 images within the encyclopedia and 40,000 image links to selected museums and galleries worldwide. Other Oxford art publications include Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Database formerly entitled Grove Art
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.groveart.com
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
A historical dictionary of English which traces words back to their entry into the language. Each entry describes where the word came from and shows how it has been used in various writings through the years. Continuously updated to include language from the present day.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://dictionary.oed.com
Oxford Music Online
This database is based on the print editions of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. It offers comprehensive coverage of all types of music from earliest times to the present day. Users can browse articles and biographies or search by various criteria. Also provides links to related Internet resources. Database formerly entitled Grovemusic
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.grovemusic.com

top of page ↑

-P-

PAIS International (a CSA database)
Focuses on literature concerned with public policy. It contains more than 400,000 records representing articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories. It is an excellent source for statistical information. Produced by the Public Affairs Information Service, subjects include agriculture, banking, business, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, law and legislation, political science, public administration, and international relations.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.csa.com
PapersFirst; see OCLC PapersFirst

Philosopher's Index (an EbscoHost database)
Provides citations and abstracts to scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Play Index
Index to more than 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present; includes mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. All Play master records contain a link to the results of an Internet metasearch of specially selected Web sites to link to full text, criticism, and other useful information.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.hwwilson.com
PNAS Online; see Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America
Pratt's Stats (part of BVMarketData)
Highlights the details of sales of large privately and closely held companies.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.bvmarketdata.com
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America (PNAS Online)
Provides indexing and full-text of papers, research reports, reviews, etc. from the National Academy of Sciences. It also provides the full-text of journal articles from PNAS on the biological, physical, and social sciences from November 1996.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.pnas.org
ProceedingsFirst (a FirstSearch database)
Gives citations to published proceedings of worldwide meetings and conferences in all disciplines. The papers themselves are listed individually in PapersFirst.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
Project Muse
Provides access to over 200 full-text scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other academic publishers. Its coverage of the humanities and social sciences includes the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies and many others. The database allows searching of the full-text across all journals in the database or by selected journal titles.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://muse.jhu.edu
Protection of Assets (POA) Manual Online
Designed for protection professionals and all business managers with asset protection responsibilities. Includes pertinent studies, doctrine, practices, and industry standards and/or guidelines, as well as security theories, concepts, and solutions.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.protectionofassets.com
PsycARTICLES (an EbscoHost database)
Contains more than 72,000 searchable full-text articles from over 40 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
PsycBOOKS (an EbscoHost database)
| Database Books List |
"A database of more than 10,000 chapters in PDF from over 800 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers. The database includes most scholarly titles published by APA from copyright years 1953 - present. It also includes 100 out-of-print books, an additional 70+ classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology" (vendor description).
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
PsycInfo 1887-Current (an Ebscohost database)
Lists materials on all areas of psychology and related fields. It is produced by the American Psychological Association and covers from 1887 to the present. Indexes over 2100 journals, as well as selected dissertations and books.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Public Stats (part of BVMarketData)
Reports transaction details of public company sales.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.bvmarketdata.com

top of page ↑

-R-

RefWorks
RefWorks is an online bibliographic software program that allows people doing research to gather, manage, and store information, as well as to generate citations and create bibliographies in a variety of formats.
Regional Business News (an EbscoHost database)
Covers over 70 business journals, newspapers and newswires from U.S. urban and rural areas.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Religious and Theological Abstracts
Covers over 400 scholarly journals published worldwide. Lists articles on all areas of religion, theology, and world religions.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.rtabst.org
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (an Ebscohost database)
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and music-related disciplines. RILM (Repertoire International de Literature Musicale) indexing covers 1967 to the present and offers citations in 140 languages, including original language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, abstracts in English, and in-depth subject indexes. Subject coverage includes all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, and music therapy. Other fields covered as they relate to music include librarianship, literature, dramatic arts, dance, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics. Full text is available for over 340 journals.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This database is an expanded version of the 10-volume print encyclopedia of the same name. It contains signed articles with bibliographies on philosophers and issues in philosophy. It is updated quarterly, extensively cross-referenced, and includes links to critically reviewed websites.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.rep.routledge.com
Routledge Politics and International Relations Resource
Contains a collection of reference works, mostly handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias, dealing with politics and international relations. They may be browsed individually, and they are searchable as a group.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.reference.routledge.com
Routledge Religion Resource
Contains a collection of reference works, mostly handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias, in the area of religion. Titles may be browsed individually or are fully searchable as a group.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.reference.routledge.com

-S-

Science Resource Center (a Gale database)
Covers earth science, the history of science, life science, physical science, science and technology, science as inquiry, space science, and many more topics related to the physical and biological sciences. Search or browse a list of topics for reference materials, magazines, journals, newspapers, multimedia, and web sites. Includes at least 150 full-text science magazines. Includes other helpful tools such as a science timeline, dictionary, taxonomic tables, periodic tables, etc. Also provides national and state science standards for grades 9-12.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.gale.com
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences, College Edition
| Database Journal List |
Provides full text to over 500,000 articles from more than 900 peer-reviewed, life and health science journals published by Elsevier. Information is also included from more than 30 reference books. Coverage is from 1995 to the present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.sciencedirect.com
ScienceDirect Social & Behavioral Sciences, College Edition
| Database Journal List |
Provides full text to more than 350 Elsevier journals in areas such as business, sociology, education, psychology, geography, language and linguistics, and library and information science. Coverage is from 1995 to the present.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.sciencedirect.com
Searchasaurus
A children's elementary level search engine that pulls content from these databases: ERIC, Primary Search, Newspaper Source, Academic Search Premier, EBSCO Animals, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, American Heritage Children's Dictionary.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
SocINDEX with Full Text (an EbscoHost database)
Replaces Sociological Abstracts as the premier database in the area of sociology. It covers the content from Sociological Abstracts and provides additional full-text of books, conference papers, and articles, as well as backfiles which in some cases extend back to 1895. Subareas include "...subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others" (vendor description).
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Sorkins Online (Fast login for MO and IL on-campus users)
| Note: As of 01-25-2008, Sorkins is available to Webster MO and IL on-campus users only. More info. |
A directory of companies in Chicago, St. Louis, and Kansas City. You can search by company name as well as locate companies that meet a number of criteria (e.g. business type, geographical location, etc.)
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.sorkins.com
SRDS Media Solutions (Standard Rate & Data Service)
Contains print and broadcast media advertising rates, deadline dates and contact data. Includes Business Publication Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source, TV & Cable Source and Local Market Audience Analyst (formerly Lifestyle Market Analyst).
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.srds.com
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (a Newsbank database)
Has the full-text of the newspaper from 1988 to present. Updated daily.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.newsbank.com
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Provides the Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys, an excellent source for economic and business information on over 50 major U.S. industries. Users can search by company name or industry for trends, key ratios and statistics, comparative analysis, industry profiles, etc. Also includes current issues of the Monthly Investment Review.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.standardandpoor.com
Stat-USA
This database is produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce and provides extensive data on U.S. and international business and economics. Includes the National Trade Data Bank with international market research, trade-related data and country analyses. Selected publications with information on the U.S economy are covered (e.g. Economic Report of the President).
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.stat-usa.gov
Student Research Center
A high school level search engine that pulls content from these databases: ERIC, Newspaper Source, Academic Search Premier, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Columbia Encyclopedia, MAS-Ultra: School Ediction.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Survey of Buying Power and Media Markets
Guide to U.S. consumer spending behavior. Includes population, retail sales, effective buying income (EBI) and Buying Power Index (BPI) for Core Based Statistical Areas (CBSA) and Media Markets. Formerly published as a supplement to Sales and Marketing Management (periodical).
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.surveyofbuyingpower.com

top of page ↑

-T-

Tests in Print
Lists commercially available tests currently in print in the English language. Gives contact information for the publisher as well as basic information about the test's purpose, scoring, intended test population, administration, etc. Links to reviews in the Mental Measurements Yearbook database.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ebscohost.com
Theses@Webster University; see Current Research@Webster University (theses/dissertations)
TWST: The Wall Street Transcript
TWST provides a unique perspective through interviews with corporate CEOs, round table analysts, money managers and analysts familiar with all major investment sectors. Reports provide insights into management and company direction, exchanges between top research analysts in the sector, inside views of portfolio management professionals, and hundreds of reviews on niche sectors.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.twst.com

-U-

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Provides subscription information for magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, electronic periodicals, etc. published worldwide. Covers currently published and forthcoming titles as well as ones that have ceased publication. Includes reviews of selected periodicals from Magazines For Libraries.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.ulrichsweb.com

-V-

Value Line Investment Survey
Includes an industry overview, financial statistics on past performance, and projections and commentary on future prospects for several hundred large cap stocks and industries. Allows searching by company (name or ticker symbol) or industry. Reports are in PDF format and require the Adobe Acrobat Reader software to view. The online database provides the current issue of each "edition" or section.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.valueline.com

-W-

Wall Street Journal (a Bell & Howell ProQuest database)
Provides the full-text of articles (no financial tables) from the Eastern edition of the newspaper from 1984 to the present. Note: As of 2007 the Wall Street Journal is no longer a separate database. This link provides a publication search of the WSJ via the ABI/Inform Complete database.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.umi.com
War and Terrorism Collection (a Gale/MOREnet database)
About 100 full-text periodicals help researchers and students of history, social science, and current events gain insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.galegroup.com
WISERTrade
Provides international trade statistics by state as well as U.S. and world regions. Users can search by several variables, including state or port, SIC or NAICS codes, etc. Included is access to the Kompass database which provides brief directory information on approximately 1.7 million companies worldwide.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://http://www.wisertrade.org
WorldAlmanac
A general reference source that includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics. The World Almanac database includes the contents of: World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac of the U.S.A., World Almanac of U.S. Politics, World Almanac for Kids, and Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org
WorldCat; see OCLC WorldCat
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses (a FirstSearch database)
Covers dissertations and theses listed in the OCLC WorldCat database.
To cite this database in a bibliography, use the following url: http://www.oclc.org

top of page ↑

Return to: Main database page

Find

Articles/databases

Books, etc./library catalog

eBooks

eReserves

In-house reserves

Videos/DVDs

About us

Service desk: 314-968-6952

Reference desk: 314-968-6950

Toll-free: 1-800-985-4279 (1-800-WU-LIBRY)

Hours

Contact us

Policies and procedures

Research help

Ask a Librarian

How do I?

Research guides & tutorials

Request books or articles

Citation guides

Thesis requirements

About the Library

Facility information

Getting to the library

Reserve a room

Computing in the library

Services for special needs

Jobs