Chairs of the Board of Trustees | Webster University Library

Chairs of the Board of Trustees

Before Webster became independent in 1967, the institution was owned and operated by the Sisters of Loretto. In 1967, Webster transferred ownership to a lay board. Listed below are the individuals who have served as chairmen since 1967.


1967-1977: Sanford Zimmerman, president of Famous-Barr Co. in St. Louis and vice president of the May Department Stores Co.
1978-1981: Monte C. Throdahl, Senior vice president, Monsanto
1982-1986: Robert C. West, President, Sverdrup Corp.
1987-1991: George Herbert Walker III, Stifel, Nicolaus & Co., Inc
1992-1993: Laurance L. Browning, Jr., Emerson Electric Co. board member
1994-1997: Richard A. Liddy, President and CEO, General American Life Insurance Co.
1998-2002: Charles W. Mueller, President and CEO, Ameren Corp.
2003-2006: Edward L. Glotzbach, President and CIO, SBC Communications, Inc.
2007-2009: Douglas E. Hill, Partner, Edward Jones
2009-2011: Mark Burkhart, President and CEO, Cassidy Turley
2011-2013: Brenda Newberry, Founder and Chairman (Ret.), The Newberry Group, Inc.
2013-2015: Steven O. Swyers, Partner (Ret.), PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP
2015-2017: Amelia J. Bond, President and CEO, Greater Saint Louis Community Foundation
2017-2019 : Lynn Britton, President and CEO of Mercy